Uncategorized

Show

Let’s Break Up is playing it’s first show this Saturday at The Bancroft Bar in Spring Valley. I am nervous. I have only ever played one other show with a band and it was a year and a half ago with the band Through the Mill. It ended up being a great show. Huge turnout, we played with 3 really fun bands and I loved the music. We were great. It’s not that I don’t think this band is great, I am just not very confident with my instrument.

I learned to play bass because Through the Mill needed a bassist and I owned a bass. It’s enormous. I couldn’t even tell you what kind it is. I know that it’s a Fender, and that it’s maybe 30 or so years old. I will never sell it because it sounds great, but my arms are much too small to play it comfortably. For our two year anniversary, Pat bought me a bass that I love. It’s an all black Squier Vintage Modified Jaguar. It’s a short scale so it is WAY easier to play…. and its preeeetty.

Through the Mill was an easy band to play with because it was very folk-y and it was very simple chords. Think Bright Eyes. Actually… really think about Bright Eyes because that’s pretty much who we sounded like. Let’s Break Up is a little more complicated than that. Pat told me he thinks our genre is “alternative emo” and I’d say that’s pretty accurate. Who would’ve thought I’d ever be in an emo band? Anyway, it’s a little harder for me to follow.

I’m also nervous about being on stage. I am not the most confident gal. I guess I never really have been. It’s harder now that I am older. I have gained quite a bit of weight in the last few years. I’m at this weird age where I feel like I should have my life figured out, but I am no where near figuring it out. That makes “being in an emo band” seem even more silly. I’m just not comfortable with myself.

Well thats about all the rambling I can take for one night. And I feel like I hardly talked about anything.

G’night world

Leave a Reply

